Baby Shower Virgin No More!

6 Jan

Over the winter break I hosted my first baby shower ever.  My family and I had a small baby shower for my brother and his fiancé, and since the baby’s sex is still unknown, we settled on a rainbow palette with a button theme.  I would have liked more time (and money) to prepare, but you don’t always get what you want.  I also had finals and Christmas shopping to worry about, so needless to say I was preeeety stressed these past few weeks.

After picking a color palette and theme, I designed some invitations on Publisher.  I had planned on sending the invites out in a postcard, but after I printed them out, I was not satisfied with the result. 

My mother also informed me that she would be handing out most of the invitations, so I decided to doctor them up since I would not have to worry about mailing them.  Here is what I came up with for the invitations that were hand-delivered:

It has the original postcard invitation inside the envelope, and a real button on the upper right hand corner.  The invitations that I mailed out had a paper button instead.   The colors aren’t exactly rainbow-hued, but I couldn’t find any paper pads that were appropriately rainbow-colored.

As for the decorations for the shower, I knew I wouldn’t find anything in my color palette or theme, so I had to make everything myself.  I used my Cricut for most of it, and it really made me wish I had the Expression instead of the Create.  If I had to do another shower like this, I would definitely invest the $250 and buy the bigger machine.  I think $250 isn’t much to pay for the sake of my sanity.

The banner I made (I have a previous post with the full banner) says “Cute as a Button”.  In retrospect I would have only put two holes in the “button” circles instead of the four I used, because they sort of look like bowling balls!  It bugged me to no end every time I looked at it.

I made my first diaper cake, and it too, could have turned out better, but what can I say, diaper cakes are not my thing.  It will hopefully be the first and last diaper cake I make.

Those eyeball looking things were supposed to be flowers.  Yeah, fail on the flowers.

My mom made the huge button at the top of the cake with some type of homemade clay/dough.  It is made with cornstarch, glue and vaseline and it hardens with time.  The letters on the button were a biotch to get off the page they came on.  Each little crystal is glued to the next, so if you pulled too hard you could say sayonara to the letter.

My mother also made the favors, which were decorated cookies.  These cookies gave my mother palpitations because the royal icing just would not dry.  The icing dried for a day, yet was still tacky to the touch.  We put fans on them, used a blow dryer (on the cool setting of course) but nothing would get the tackiness to go away.  In the end, my mom dipped them in sugar and we were able to package them without ruining the bag or the cookie.

I made the tags to close the bags with (I also have a previous post on them), and my lovely friend Bree helped me put the embroidery floss and buttons on them.

I also made some mint matchbooks to go on the favor table.

The back of the matchbooks said “Thank you for celebrating with us.   It “mint” a lot to us.”  Nothing like a corny pun to celebrate new life. 🙂

My mom’s friend was nice enough to make chocolate covered Oreos.  These were really yummy!

Here is the gift table:

I made the card “box” which was really just a basket with a “Cards” sign stuck in it.  My boyfriend called it the “Carlos” box because he kept thinking that is what it said.

I also made some “Well Wishes for Baby” and “Advice for the Parents To Be” cards for the guests to fill out.  I will bind the responses into a book for the parents to be.  If I ever procreate, I want someone to do this for me because you get some really touching and hilarious responses from your guests.  I will post about the finished product when I finish it…hopefully before the baby is born.

Here are the tables with the centerpieces and button confetti on them:

We had guests use the buttons we scattered on the tables as bingo markers.  Thankfully, nobody hurled buttons at anybody else as I had feared.

My friend Marisa was nice enough to lend us her mom’s custom-made cupcake stands, and help me set up the cupcakes.

I did not have any ribbon that was wide enough to replace the polka-dotted ribbon, but I still like the look of the whole thing.

All in all, it was great to see friends we had not seen in years.  My childhood friend was able to stop by and she brought her newly hatched son!  She graciously let my brother practice his daddy skills and carry little Jaxson:

Too bad he didn’t need a diaper change because I’m sure my brother could have used the practice!

One Response to “Baby Shower Virgin No More!”

  1. Jen January 30, 2012 at 7:26 am #

    Everything looked amazing!! You are a miracle worker!!

Insert witty comments below:

