Faux Diamonds Are A Girl’s Best Friend

4 Jan

I desperately needed a break from the baby shower madness that has consumed my life, so instead of doing something productive, like clean the pigsty I call home, I decided instead to do something crafty.  I know, big surprise.  I knew I wanted to make my boyfriend’s niece a birthday card since we are going to her birthday party today.   I made her a castle shaped card on my Cricut, but like many things in my life, it did not turn out as expected.  It ended up being about two inches wide by three inches tall.  Waaay too small, even for a four-year old.  So it’s going to be a gift tag instead.

 

To make up for the inadequacy of my birthday card, I decided the birthday girl needed a tiara.  I mean, what girl doesn’t need a tiara, especially on her birthday?  I cut out all the pieces for the tiara on my Cricut, and as I was about to put the faux paper jewels on it, I remembered my secret stash of real faux jewels and used those instead of the crappy paper jewels I was going to use.

Once again I apologize for the lighting, but there is only so much light available during the winter months in northwest Ohio.  Bleh!  I really like the end result, and I hope the birthday girl does to.  If she doesn’t then tant pis, as the French would say.  I’ll just keep it for myself, and wear it when the tiara wearing mood strikes me.

PS.  Tant pis = oh well

Insert witty comments below:

