Frita Batidos

10 Dec

I spent a wonderful day shopping at IKEA and then stopped at a restaurant I have been wanting to eat at.  It’s called Frita Batidos, and if you are in the Ann Arbor area, it has AMAZING food.

The food is Cuban inspired, and even if you aren’t a fan of Cuban food (and how you can’t like Cuban food is beyond me, but to each their own) you will still find something you like.  The batidos, which are milkshakes, are sooo yummy and rich they could be a meal in and of themselves.  I ordered a coconut cream batido, and it was really coconut-y.  If you are on the fence about coconut, it would probably be too much for you.  I would sleep in a bed of coconut if I could, so it was just coconut-y enough for me.  My friend ordered a passionfruit batido, and I think I liked that flavor even better, because it was not quite as sweet as the coconut.

I also ordered the Inspired Cuban, which as the description states has: “aromatic roast pork, thick cut bacon, tasso ham, gruyere, cornichons and spicy chipotle mayo on Cuban bread.”  I initially thought the $12 price tag was a little steep, but after I tasted it, I realized it was the best $12 I have spent in a long while.

The bacon was deliciously thick as promised, and the spicy mayo had some real kick to it.  Even though I’m stuffed as I write this, my mouth is still watering as I think about the yummy-ness of this sandwich.  Ugh, I’m such a pig.

Insert witty comments below:

